The terrifying world of a graduate

One of the most daunting words of my life. Graduation. The pressure of getting the grade you want and not tripping over in front of hundreds of people. A day only to be tackled with a lot of prosecco and your closest friends.

Once I had passed my exams, achieved a higher second class degree in English and made it through graduation without falling over I thought I was ready for anything. I was wrong. The feeling of being utterly lost in a jungle of job applications and probing family members asking the same ‘what are you going to do with your life?’ questions was something I was not entirely prepared for.

Conclusion? Being a responsible adult sucks.

My advice to future graduates would be to get yourself experience in something you think you want to do. Try everything you can, go anywhere you want and tick off as much as possible from your bucket list. I can now see the light at the end of the tunnel in a months time when I finish this placement with no overdraft and no gaps on my CV between education and employment and the world will be my oyster. My short internship has shown me what I am good at and given me the confidence to apply for jobs I would have shied away from before.

As well as being a scary time, graduating from university can also be a terrific period of opportunity and adventure where more doors are open to you than ever before. University is not for everyone but it showed me some of my potential and gave me the confidence to try things I had never dreamed of attempting.

Leave a comment